Dominque Hawkins and Nick Mayo are set to return to the Bluegrass this summer.

They will compete in the annual single-elimination nationwide event known as The Basketball Tournament (TBT).

The Lexington Regional is scheduled for July 19 through 21 at Frederick Douglass High School. Eight teams will be featured and the games will be televised live on ESPN's networks.

This is the first time in the six-year history of the event that games will be played in Lexington.

Hawkins, a graduate of Madison Central and the University of Kentucky, will play for Bluegrass Boys.

Mayo, Eastern Kentucky University's all-time leading scorer, is on the roster of the Kentucky Basketball Commission.

TBT divides a 64-team field into eight regions for Rounds 1-3, with each region seeded 1-8. The winner of each regional competition will advance to Championship Week in Chicago on August 1 through 6, where the last team standing will claim a winner-take-all prize of $2 million.

The champion of each regional will receive a cash prize equal to 25 percent of the ticket sales of that particular region.

Bluegrass Boys features a roster of former UK players. The team was organized by general manager Mark Krebs (2010) and is coached by two-time NCAA champion Wayne Turner (1999). The team will be led by Kentucky natives Derek Willis (2017) and Hawkins (2017), as well as former UK standouts Josh Harrellson (2011), Marcus Lee (2016), Ramon Harris (2010), Kevin Galloway (2009) and AJ Stewart (2009).

Making their second TBT appearance, Bluegrass Boys will serve as the No. 2 seed in the Lexington Regional.

In addition to cutting down the nets in both 1996 and 1998, Turner appeared in three-straight Final Fours during his time at Kentucky.

Willis, Hawkins and Lee made back-to-back trips to the Final Four in 2014-15, while Harrellson helped the Cats end a 13-year Final Four drought in 2011. Krebs and Harris each reached the Elite Eight during Kentucky head coach John Calipari’s first season in 2010, while Galloway and Stewart ended their UK careers under former head coach Billy Gillispie.

The top-seeded team in Lexington will be Team Loyalty is Love, anchored by GM and former UK All-American DeMarcus Cousins (2010).

The first-year team features former Wildcat Daniel Orton (2010), as well as former Baylor players Pierre Jackson, Quincy Miller and Isaiah Austin. Darius Johnson-Odom (Marquette), Markel Brown (Oklahoma State) and Willie Reed (Saint Louis) round out the roster structured by the four-time NBA All-Star.

The Kentucky Basketball Commission will be coached by Lexington native and Charlotte Hornets point guard Shelvin Mack. The No. 4 seed KBC includes 2004 Kentucky Mr. Basketball honoree and former Tennessee All-American Chris Lofton, Mayo and one-time Western Kentucky star AJ Slaughter. Indiana native Matt Howard, who played alongside Mack during Butler’s back-to-back runner-up finishes in the NCAA Tournament, will also join KBC in its inaugural season.

The Lexington Regional is rounded out by No. 3 Fort Wayne Champs, No. 5 Peoria All-Stars, No. 6 Showtime, No. 7 D2 and No. 8 Hoopville Warriors. In total, 64 players with NBA experience will be competing at TBT.

Lexington Regional tickets may be purchased immediately at with options for both daily and weekend passes.

React to this story: