Eastern Kentucky University graduate Nick Mayo has officially been named to the Miami Heat's Summer League team, earning a chance to play his way onto an NBA roster.

Mayo is one of 12 players on the Heat roster, which also includes the team's first-round draft pick, former Kentucky guard Tyler Herro.

Others on the roster include: Kyle Alexander (Tennessee), Charles Cooke (Dayton), Ibrahima Faye (Senegal), Jeremiah Martin (Mem-phis), Yante Maten (Georgia), Trey Mourning (Georgetown), Kendrick Nunn (Oakland), Chris Silva (South Carolina) and Nick Weiler-Babb (Iowa State).

Mayo will wear No. 70.

The Heat will hold three days of practices in Sacramento before beginning Summer League play in the California Classic on Monday.

The Sacramento Summer League includes three games in three days for the Heat -- Monday against the Lakers at 9 p.m., Tuesday against the Kings at 11 p.m. and Wednesday against the Warriors at 3 p.m. -- before the action moves to Las Vegas.

The Heat opens the Las Vegas Summer League on Friday, July 5 against the Chinese National Team. Miami will play four opening-round games (vs. China on July 5 at 5:30 p.m., vs. Jazz on July 7 at 8 p.m., vs. Magic on July 9 at 4 p.m. and vs. Timberwolves on July 10 at 7 p.m.).

After those four preliminary contests, the top eight teams are then seeded in a tournament, which culminates with a championship game on Monday, July 15 at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN2. Teams that do not qualify for the tournament will each play a consolation game. Every team will play at least five games and as many as seven in Las Vegas.

Every MGM Resorts NBA Summer League game will air live on television for the second-straight year, with ESPN networks and NBA TV combining to televise a record number of games. ESPN will also present every game from Las Vegas via the ESPN App.

Mayo ranked second in the Ohio Valley Conference and 10th in the country in scoring (23.7 points-per-game) during the 2018-19 season. He also led the OVC in free throw percentage (86.4%), tied for second in blocks-per-game (1.8) and ranked fourth in rebounds-per-game (8.7).

On December 15, he moved past Matt Witt to become EKU's all-time leading scorer.

Mayo finished his career fifth on the OVC's all-time scoring list.

and 145th on the NCAA's all-time scoring list with 2,316 points.

He is only the second player in the 71-year history of the OVC to be named first team all-conference four times. Western Kentucky's Ralph Crosthwaite (1954-59) is the other.

React to this story: