Several city and county offices, as well state representative, Congress and president, will be up for election this year.

Candidates for Congress, state representative, Richmond City Commission, circuit court clerk and commonwealth’s attorney have until 4 p.m. Jan. 31 to file, according to Madison County Clerk Kenny Barger.

Candidates for Madison County School Board, Berea City Council and Madison County Soil and Water Conservation Supervisory Board have until 4 p.m. Aug. 14 to file, he said.

Filing for city and county offices is done at the county clerk’s office, but candidates for federal and state offices must file with the Secretary of State in Frankfort, Barger said.

No candidates for local offices had filed when the clerk’s office closed Dec. 22 for the Christmas holidays, he said.

Currently registered voters who want to change party affiliation for partisan nominations which will be decided in the May 22 primary must do so by Dec. 31, Barger said.

Because Dec. 31 falls on a Saturday, and the clerk’s office will be closed Friday, Dec. 30 for the New Year’s holiday, hand-delivered registration cards must be in by 4 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 29. Registration cards postmarked by Dec. 31 also will be accepted, the clerk said.

Hand-delivered cards may be turned in at the clerk’s office in the courthouse, 101 W. Main St., Richmond, or at Berea City Hall, 212 Chestnut St.

Circuit Court Clerk

Madison Circuit Clerk Linda Spurlock Cates has announced she will not seek re-election and several individuals recently took the required qualifying examination. Parties will select candidates for this race in the May 22 primary.

Commonwealth’s Attorney

David Smith is the incumbent commonwealth’s attorney, a non-partisan position. A May 22 primary and Nov. 6 runoff will take place if more than two candidates file for this office

Richmond City Commission

Richmond City Commissioners serve two-year terms, and all four non-partisan positions will be up for election this year.

If more than eight candidates enter the race, they will be on a primary ballot May 22 with a runoff Nov. 6. With eight or fewer candidates, there will be no primary.

The incumbents are Donna Baird, Robert Blythe, Jason Morgan and Richard Thomas.

Madison County School Board

Three of the five non-partisan positions on the Madison County School Board, which are elected from territorial districts, would normally be up for election this year.

However, the resignation of Doug Whitlock, effective Dec. 31, means an election will be conducted to fill the portion of his term which expires at the end of 2014, Barger said.

State law, KRS 160.190, requires Kentucky Commissioner of Education, Dr. Terry Holiday, to make an interim appointment to fill Whitlock’s seat on the board within 90 days of his resignation. The appointee will serve until the election.

The incumbents in the districts up for election are Betsy Bohannon, Becky Coyle and John Lackey.

Board member Mona Isaacs’ term runs through 2014.

State Representative

Races for the Kentucky House of Representatives pose the greatest uncertainty in the coming year.

Legislative districts must be redrawn to reflect the 2010 census, and boundaries await action by the legislature. It convenes Jan. 3, only 28 days until the filing deadline.

In the past, the filing deadline has had to be moved because the legislature did not enact a redistricting plan early enough.

A preliminary redistricting plan drawn for the House of Representative’s majority would leave only one entire district within Madison County. The remainder would be split into districts that include other counties. The Madison County portions would be small minorities in at least three of those four districts.

In addition, none of Madison County would be in the district of Rep. Lonnie Napier, R-Lancaster, one of the senior members of the chamber. His district currently covers most of Madison and all of Garrard County.

The preliminary plan would combine all of Garrard and Lincoln counties.

Fearing that Madison County’s influence in the House of Representatives would be diluted by the plan, Madison Fiscal Court, Richmond City Commission and Berea City Council have all passed resolutions voicing their opposition.

The district of Rep. Rita Smart, D-Richmond, would remain in central Madison County.

Most of Napier’s current district in Madison County would become part of a district combined with southern Fayette County. It currently is represented by Rep. Bill Farmer, R-Lexington.

Under the preliminary plan, northeastern Madison County, mostly along Boonesborough Road, would continue to be part of a district combined with Clark County. It is represented by Rep. Donna Mayfield, R-Winchester.

A section of western Madison County, including Waco, would be attached to a district that now includes Estill, Lee and Breathitt counties. It is represented by Rep. Teddy Edmonds, D-Jackson.

A southern section of Madison County would be joined to a district that now includes Rockcastle, Lincoln and part of Pulaski counties. It is represented by Rep. Danny Ford, R-Mt. Vernon.

Wet-Dry Referendum

In addition to the elections for public office, at least one wet-dry referendum will take place in 2012. Voters in the North Keeneland-Saratoga precinct of Richmond will be asked to decide Jan. 24 whether alcohol may be sold there.

 Bill Robinson can be reached at or at 624-6622.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you