Election 2020 logo.jpeg

While the mayor’s seat is not on the ballot until 2022, Richmond voters will have a chance to vote for city commissioners this fall.

Seven candidates have filled for the four seats, including the four currently serving. Since there are fewer than eight candidates, there will not be a primary.

Those running are: Krystin Arnold, Jason Morgan, Ed McDaniel, Jacob Grant, Mike Brewer, Jim Newby and Ken DeGrant III.

Morgan, McDaniel, Grant and Brewer are currently on the commission. Newby is a former commissioner who lost to Robert Blythe in 2018’s mayoral race.

Two other local races will be on the ballot this fall — Berea City Council and soil/water conservation. The deadline to file for those is in August, according to Madison County Clerk Kenny Barger.

U.S. Senate

There are 17 candidates hoping to challenge Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell.

Ten are on the Democratic side — Jimmy Ausbrooks of Franklin, State Rep. Charles Booker of Louisville, Mike Broihier of Stanford, Maggie Jo Hilliard of Louisville, Andrew Maynard of Georgetown, Amy McGrath of Georgetown, Eric Rothmuller of Louisville, John Sharpensteen of Bonnieville, Bennie Smith of Louisville and Mary Ann Tobin of Guston.

McConnell is currently set to face seven challengers in the Republican primary — Nicholas Alsager of Campbellsville, Wendell Crow of Coxs Creek, Paul John Frangedakis of Lexington, Louis Grider of Elizabethtown, Naren James of Stanford, Kenneth Lowndes of Wilder and Wesley Morgan of Richmond.

U.S. 6th Congressional District

Josh Hicks and Daniel Kemph, both of Lexington, are running on the Democratic ticket to challenge Congressman Andy Barr. Barr has two challengers in the Republican primary — Chuck Eddy and Geoff Young, both of Lexington.

State House

71st District (Garrard, Rockcastle and part of Madison): Incumbent R. Travis Brenda will face Josh Bray in the Republican primary. No Democrats filed to run.

73rd District (Clark and part of Madison): Incumbent Les Yates will face Ryan Dotson in the Republican primary. Three Democrats filed to run — Pat Banks, Kenny Blair and Rory Houlihan.

81st District (part of Madison): No challengers filed against incumbent Deanna Frazier in the Republican primary. Two Democrats filed — Mike Eaves and Martina Jackson-Haynes.

89th District (Jackson and part of Laurel and Madison): Incumbent Robert Goforth will face Democratic challenger Mike VanWinkle in the general election. No other candidates filed for the primary.

91st District (Breathitt, Estill, Lee, Owsley and part of Madison): With State Rep. Cluster Howard announcing his retirement, four Republicans and three Democrats filed. On the Republican side are Michael Brent Duncil, Shawn Lee Thatcher, Bill Wesley and Billy Williams II. On the Democratic side are Paula Clemons-Combs, Letha Noble Hogan and Bruce Shouse.

Jonathan Greene is the editor of The Register; follow him on Twitter @jgreeneRR.

React to this story:


Recommended for you