As we settle into a new decade here in the Bluegrass, we also prepare ourselves for another round of elections.

During the General Election on Nov. 3, Kentuckians will have the opportunity to vote for President and decide who will represent Kentucky in the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.

According to the Secretary of State’s website, as of Dec. 30, the following Democratic candidates have filed to run for Mitch McConnell’s Class II Senate seat: Jimmy C. Ausbrooks, Mike Broihier, Andrew J. Maynard, Amy McGrath, Eric Rothmuller and John R. Sharpernsteen.

The following Republican candidates have filed to run for the Senate seat: Nicholas Alsager, Wendell K. Crow, Paul John Frangedakis, Louis Grider, C. Wesley Morgan, and the incumbent Mitch McConnell.

McConnell was elected to the Senate in 1984 and his term began in 1985 becoming the first Republican to win a statewide election in Kentucky since 1968. Since then, he has gone on to become the second Kentuckian to lead his party in the Senate, the longest-serving U.S. senator for Kentucky in history and the longest-serving Republican U.S. senator leader in history.

The filing deadline for candidates wishing to run for the U.S. Senate is Jan. 28. Primaries are scheduled for May 19.

So far, Republicans Gerardo Serrano and incumbent Hal Rogers have filed their intent to run for the U.S. House of Representatives in the 5th district. The 5th district covers Knox, Laurel, and Whitley counties, as well as several others. Candidates have until Jan. 10 to file their intent to run. Rogers defeated Serrano in the 2018 primary by more than 60,000 votes.

Kentuckians will also have the opportunity to vote for state representatives this year. As of now, Republican Matt Anderson is the only candidate to file his intent to run in Kentucky’s 82nd district, which covers part of Laurel County and all of Whitley County. While current Representative Regina Huff hasn’t filed her intent to run with the Secretary of State’s office yet, she has announced via her Facebook page that she plans to run again.

Republicans Wes Hargis and Gregory A. Ousley are running for Kentucky’s 85th district. Incumbent Tommy Turner, who has served Pulaski and the southwest part of Laurel County for 24 years, has announced that he is retiring.

Current Representative of the 86th district Jim Stewart has announced he is not running for re-election next year. Republicans Don Rose and Tom O’Dell Smith have filed to run for Stewart’s position which represents all of Knox County and parts of Laurel County.

Republican incumbent Robert Goforth is the only candidate to file his intent to run for Kentucky’s 89th district. Kentucky’s 89th district encompasses Jackson County and parts of Laurel and Madison counties.

Republican Derek Lewis is the only candidate to file his intent to run in the 90th district so far. The 90th district covers all of Clay and Leslie counties and part of Laurel County. The filing deadline for that race is Jan. 10. Primaries are scheduled for May 19.

Several races for state Senate seats will be decided next year, including a special election on Jan. 14 for the 38th district position which is currently vacant. Incumbent Albert Robinson has filed his intent to run for re-election in the 21st district, which covers Laurel County among others. No one has filed for the 25th district’s seat which is held currently by Kentucky Senate President Robert Stivers.

Locally, Carolyn Willis has filed to run for the unexpired term of Whitley County County Clerk. The position was vacated when long-time County Clerk Kay Schwartz retired in early December 2019.

Lauren Connell, Richard Foley and Mary Ann Stanfill have filed to run for Williamsburg City Council. There have been no candidates file to run for Corbin City Commission in either Knox or Whitley counties as of Friday afternoon. Candidates have until 4 p.m. on Jan. 10 to file their intent to run.

Candidates wishing to run for Corbin Independent School Board and Williamsburg Independent School Board have until August 2020 to file their intent.

For more information and an up-to-date list of filings, visit the Secretary of State’s website at

React to this story:


Recommended for you