The Richmond Register

Opinion

June 17, 2012

Character: The measure of a man

RICHMOND —  


Eleven years ago, Peggy Noonan, a presidential aide and speech writer wrote a memoir about a former boss, Ronald Reagan. She called it, “When Character was King.”

Reagan's success was no secret. It was his character, Noonan wrote, his courage, his kindness, his persistence, his honesty, and his almost heroic patience in the face of setbacks.

Even those who disagreed with Reagan liked and respected him. That was true of people as different as former Speaker of the House Tip O'Neill and Mikhail Gorbachev, former head of the Soviet Union.

Noonan's title may have summed up her feelings about a president she admired, but it made me think of my father.

The true measure of a man is not his talent, intelligence, wealth or career success, he taught me. Character is what counts..

Many things in life we cannot control, the place or station of our birth, the wealth of our families, our physical characteristics and numerous other factors. But how we deal with our lot in life, especially how we treat others, is what defines us. That is not given to us, it is something we choose to strive for.

We may be born in humble circumstances and have few external advantages, but we can still go about life with kindness, courage, honesty and persistence. Most of all, we can accord others respect, even if we're not respected in return.

Like Reagan, even those who disagreed with my father respected him because he showed respect for everyone regardless of their opinions or station in life.

One lesson of character made a lasting impression on my father, and he passed it to me.

In 1894, a young captain in the French army was convicted of treason. Dreyfus was Jewish, and jealous antisemitic officers framed him. He spent five years in a notorious penal colony called Devil's Island, much of it in solitary confinement.

Text Only
Opinion
  • It takes all kinds

    Do you ever wonder how really good people can so fervently disagree about so many things?

    December 14, 2013

  • Ronnie-Ellis.jpg It’s complicated being a Kentucky Republican these days

     When Republican Agriculture Commissioner James Comer went to Republican U.S. Rep. Hal Rogers’ hometown to say, “The days of party bosses hand-picking candidates must end,” people noticed.
    When former Rogers staffer and Republican state Sen. Chris Girdler responded with an op-ed in the Somerset Commonwealth Journal that Comer’s “baffling remarks” deepened existing wounds, people also noticed.
    But they may not notice the spat is an example of prior grievances and complicated present alliances inside the Republican Party of Kentucky.

    December 1, 2013 1 Photo

  • Froma_harrop_headshot.jpg Slower rise in health care spending is a big deal

    The sky isn't falling. The train is not wrecking. The end is not nigh. And to drag this out a bit, the tidings are not all bad.
    The Social Security and Medicare trustees have spoken in their latest annual report: Social Security's not-too-serious condition remains unchanged from last year. But the outlook for Medicare, the more shaky program, has brightened modestly.

    June 4, 2013 1 Photo

  • Billy Ray Hughes To jail or not to jail?

    Did you know that since the 1970s Kentucky’s prison population has grown by nearly 700 percent while the total population has grown by 40 percent?

    June 4, 2013 1 Photo

  • Jim Waters Opening the blinds on pension secrecy

    Kentucky’s pension debt, which stands at nearly $34 billion today, is expected to reach $40 billion during the next three years. 

    How different would our situation be today if former Gov. Wendell Ford had not decided back in 1972 that taxpayers don’t have a right to know who receives their hard-earned dollars in the form of pensions, or even how many pensions some state retirees get? 

    July 29, 2012 1 Photo

  • Bill-Robinson.jpg Living up to our ideals

     

    When asked how they heard about the patriotic concert by the Madison Community Band and the Madison Community Singers in the EKU Ravine on the eve of Independence Day, most applauded to indicate they learned about it from the Richmond Register.
     

    July 8, 2012 2 Photos

  • Ike Adams A smaller garden is easier to tend

    I may not have the prettiest garden I’ve ever grown and, for sure, I have down-sized, both in terms of square footage and the number of vegetable varieties I used to grow by about half. But, I do have the cleanest little vegetable patch I’ve ever had.  

    July 1, 2012 1 Photo

  • Nick Lewis The show must go on at EKU Center for the Arts

    Until June 14, the Community Operations Board of Eastern Kentucky University’s Center for the Arts believed they had the responsibility and power to make decisions involving the center and its personnel, but what they really found out was they have no power at all. If that is the case, then why do they exist?

    June 27, 2012 1 Photo

  • Bill-Robinson.jpg Character: The measure of a man

     

    
    

    Eleven years ago, Peggy Noonan, a presidential aide and speech writer wrote a memoir about a former boss, Ronald Reagan. She called it, “When Character was King.”

     

    June 17, 2012 1 Photo

  • Bill-Robinson.jpg Elections could be more voter-friendly

     

    I got some interesting responses to my column about the low voter turnout.
    No one questioned my emphasis on the extra added power and responsibility of the few who voted. But some suggested ways for making our elections more voter-friendly.

    June 10, 2012 1 Photo

AP Video
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should the Richmond City Commission stop rezoning property to allow construction of apartments?

Yes.
No
     View Results