The Richmond Register

January 4, 2013

OVC FOOTBALL: Ford named to FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

By Nathan Hutchinson
Register staff report

RICHMOND — EKU senior Patrick Ford was one of four  OVC football players to be named to the 15th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Academic All-Star Team presented by KP Sports on Thursday.

Ford, a native of Richmond, was in his third year as a starter on the offensive line until he suffered a season-ending injury on Sept. 29 at UT Martin. He lined  up at both guard and tackle in his time with the Colonels, but spent the majority of the 2011 and 2012 seasons at left tackle. Ford earned his undergraduate degree last spring and was named to the 2012 CoSIDA Academic All-District first team in November.

Additionally, from the Academic All-Star team, Ford is one of six finalists in the running for the annual FCS ADA’s $5,000 postgraduate scholarships presented by KP Sports. The other finalists are Northern Iowa punter Kyle Bernard, Youngstown State defensive lineman Nick DeKraker, Liberty wide receiver Pat Kelly, Colgate wide receiver Chris Looney and Monmouth defensive back Andrew Sutton.

Two student-athletes will receive postgraduate scholarships during the association’s annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate  Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Fla., June 13 through 15.

There were 54 winners selected to the all-star team out of 98 nominees from the Football Championship Subdivision level. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have  completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing  this task were Ron Strollo, Youngstown State (chair); Ken Beazer, Southern Utah; Charlie Cobb, Appalachian State; Brian Hutchinson, Morehead State; Marilyn McNeil, Monmouth; and Jeff Tingey, Idaho State.

EKU (8-3, 6-2 OVC) was left out of the FCS playoffs, but finished the year ranked No. 16 in FCS coaches poll and No. 21 in The Sports Network poll. EKU kicks off the 2013 schedule with a Thursday night home opener against Robert Morris on Aug. 29.