The Richmond Register


November 6, 2012

H.S. SPORTS: Model's White named Kentucky Wendy’s High School Heisman winner

RICHMOND — Model Laboratory senior Ray White has been chosen to receive one of the nation’s top honors for a high school student-athlete.

On Monday, White was named the winner of the 2012 Kentucky Wendy’s High School Heisman. The senior is a standout on the Patriots’ soccer and baseball teams and also in the classroom.

Of the 45,000 seniors who applied nationwide, 1,170 were from Kentucky and they were narrowed down to 20 finalists, which were announced last week. The finalists embody the Heisman spirit of hard work and dedication through their outstanding achievements in athletics, academics and community/ school leadership.

From all the state winners, 12 will be chosen as national finalists and will go on to compete for the national winner title in New York City on Dec. 7. National Finalists will be featured during a televised ceremony on ESPN networks and will receive gold medals and $2,000 awards for their high schools.

One male and one female national winner will receive a crystal Wendy’s High School Heisman trophy, a $500 gift certificate to Wendy’s and Wendy’s will donate $10,000 to each winner’s respective high school.

Additionally, the winners will be recognized during the collegiate Heisman Trophy broadcast on ESPN, Dec. 8.

Created in 1994 by Wendy’s and the Heisman Memorial Trust, the Wendy’s High School Heisman Award recognizes outstanding high school seniors nationwide who excel in athletics, academics and community leadership. Students can nominate themselves for the award online, in addition to being recommended by principals, teachers, guidance counselors and coaches.

The most exceptional students are then selected to advance during extensive  judging processes conducted at both state and national levels.

The other Kentucky state finalists were: Trent Tackett, Shelby Valley High School; William Garrard, Owensboro; Forrest Bowman, Christian Academy Of Lawrenceburg; Aaron Hall, Pulaski County; Tanner Dice, Montgomery County; Kalen Freeman, Estill County; Jacob Thomson Holy Cross; Elijah Flener, Butler County, Matthew Bunnell, Barren County.

The 2012 Kentucky State girls winner was Breanna Grubb of Raceland.

Text Only
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide

Should the Richmond City Commission stop rezoning property to allow construction of apartments?

     View Results