The Richmond Register

December 11, 2012

OVC FOOTBALL: EKU’s Adams named All-American

Register Staff Reports

RICHMOND — Register Staff Reports

The postseason honors continue to pile up for the Eastern Kentucky University football team.

On Monday, senior offensive lineman Aaron Adams was named Second-Team All-America by The Sports Network. He was one of 10 Ohio Valley Conference players to be named an All-American by the organization.

Last month, 13 Colonels earned All-OVC honors and earlier this month senior wide receiver Tyrone Goard was selected to play in the 2013 East-West Shrine Game, which is scheduled for Jan. 19 in St. Petersburg, Fla.

Adams, a native of Lake Worth, Fla., was a First-Team All-OVC performer in both 2011 and 2012. He helped the Colonels rank second in the OVC and 20th nationally in  rushing yards per game this season (205.8 ypg). Adams started every game on the EKU offensive line spanning the last two seasons.

As a junior, he played the entire year at right tackle. Adams switched from right to left tackle in the middle of the 2012 campaign due to an injury to Patrick Ford.

Adams is the second EKU offensive lineman to earn All-America honors in five years under head coach Dean Hood. Derek Hardman came away with All-America accolades in 2009.

EKU football team hands                        out honors at annual banquet

The EKU football team handed out its annual team awards for  the 2012 season at its postseason banquet in the Perkins Building Sunday afternoon. Offensive linemen Aaron Adams and Patrick Ford shared the highest honor at the banquet — the Roy Kidd Award.

The Roy Kidd Award is given to a player(s) annually based upon his performance on the field, success in the classroom and positive involvement in the community.

Ford, a native of Richmond, was in his third year as a starter on the offensive line until he suffered a season-ending injury on Sept. 29 at UT Martin. He lined up at both guard and tackle in his time with the Colonels, but spent the majority of the 2011 and 2012 seasons at left tackle. Ford also earned his undergraduate degree last spring and was named to the 2012 CoSIDA Academic All-District First-Team in November.

For the second year in a row, the Offensive Player of the Year award went to running back Matt Denham. The senior from Rineyville, became  the first Colonel since 2002 to reach 1,000-yards rushing in back-to-back seasons. Denham reached 200 yards rushing for the sixth time in his career in his final collegiate game on Nov. 10  against Murray State.

The Defensive Player of the Year award went to senior defensive back Brooklyn Fox. A three-year starter at free safety, Fox led the league and ranked second nationally with six interceptions. The native of Tulsa, Okla., opened the season in impressive fashion with two interceptions and one fumble recovery at Purdue.

The other award winners were Adams (Offensive Lineman of the Year and Offensive Colonel Core Value Award), senior Robert Knowles (Defensive Lineman of the Year), junior punter Jordan Berry (Special Teams Players of the Year), junior wide receiver Ike Ariguzo (Offensive Newcomer of the Year), freshman defensive back Stanley Absanon (Defensive Newcomer of the Year), running back J.J. Jude (Offensive Future of the Year), defensive lineman Avery Pitt (Defensive Future of the Year), and junior linebacker Ichiro Vance (Defensive Colonel Core Value Award).