The Richmond Register


June 12, 2013

H.S. BASKETBALL: Kentucky All-Stars set for final tune-up

RICHMOND — The Kentucky All-Stars are set for one final tune-up before a pair of big showdowns this weekend with the Indiana All-Stars.

The Kentucky Senior All-Stars will scrimmage the Kentucky Junior All-Stars today at Madison Central High School.

The girls game will start at 5:30 p.m., with the boys game at 7:30 p.m.

Admission is $6 and all proceeds benefit the Kentucky Lions Eye Foundation.

The boys teams scrimmaged Monday at Bullitt East High School in Mt. Washington. The senior picked up a 110-87 win. The girls rolling to a 94-52 victory over the Junior All-Stars in Lebanon.

This year’s Kentucky All-Stars feature four Madison Central players — Ken-Jah Bosley, Dominique Hawkins, Ashton Feldhaus and Larryn Brooks.

The senior boys are coached by Madison Central’s Allen Feldhaus.

The Kentucky All-Stars will take on the Indiana All-Stars Friday at Freedom Hall in Louisville starting at 5:30 p.m.

The teams will meet again Saturday at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.

The event, which began in 1940, is the longest running all-star event in the country. The games also serve as the major fundraiser for the Kentucky Lions Eye Foundation, whose mission is to prevent and cure blindness.

Tickets for the games are available at

The Kentucky Boys All-Star team includes: Dominique Hawkins (Madison Central), Ken-Jah Bosley (Madison Central), Devonte Grundy (Bardstown), Darryl Hicks (Trinity), Stuart Jackson  (Central), Tyler Jones (Montgomery Co.), Ray Kasongo (Pikeville), Jordan Majors (Hopkinsville), Omar Prewitt (Montgomery Co.), Rusty Troutman (Bullitt East), Jack Whitman (Lexington Catholic) and Derek Willis (Bullitt East).

The Kentucky Girls All-Star team includes: Makayla Epps (Marion Co.), Larryn Brooks (Madison Central), China Dow (Christian Academy), Ashton Feldhaus (Madison Central), Kyvin Goodin-Rogers (Marion Co.),  Becca Greenwell (Owensboro Catholic), Jessica Hardin (Wayne Co.), Whitney Hartlage (Mercy), Michaela Hunter (Rockcastle Co.), Taylor Porter (Lawrence Co.), Logan Powell (Marion Co.) and Beth Rates (Hancock County).

Text Only